Regular updates from Stoli (the world's only "Scubadog").

Stoli’s Koh Samui Diving Blog

Ok, so now the instructors (human instructors that is) are giving weekly instructional tips so I think it’s time to hear from Stoli.  Today I am going to talk about how to choose a good dive site for the day.  I will list a few items which are very important in choosing the site:

1.  Have a site near a beach and not rocks.  It is much easier to find a nice spot to pee or poop for me in the sand.  Ever try to lift a leg and balance yourself on a wet rock?

2.  If possible have it close to a snorkel site.  Snorkelers tens to leave food unattended while they are in the water.  Good for me!

3.  Try to stay on the leeward side of the land where the waves will be lower.  It is very hard for me to get on my kit in big waves as you can see in the picture.  Also, I got to get 4 legs on the ladder getting back on the boat.

IMG_1295

4.  And finally, look for other dogs in the water.  That is a sure sign that you are at a great dive site.

I hope these ideas helped you and look for another of our instructor guest blogger next week.

Other than that, we have had a great week here at Discovery.  The diving has been good and there is a ton of other things to do here on Koh Samui as there is no army here and no curfew.  Even if you are not diving, come out and go snorkeling with us on our boats.  We have a good few days of weather ahead.  Stay tuned to our facebook page for pictures and diving conditions and make sure to visit us at http://www.discoverydivers.com for all other information about PADI courses we offer and our staff.

Bark at ya later,

Stoli

 

Leave a comment